« How Young Women Feel About Marketing | Main | All Girl Marketing Agency »

August 26, 2006

Comments

Stephanie Weaver

Hi Holly,
I had the exact same reaction as you did to these commercials, although the one I saw showed a mother and daughter. The daughter "confessed" to playing spin the bottle at a party, then the mother said she already knew about it. As I recognized the "mother" as an actress, the whole thing creeped me out as well. I think it's the case of a company trying to capitalize on the appeal of sites like PostSecret.com, which are real people sharing real (and frequently depressing, awful, or shameful) secrets in total anonymity. I do give them credit for including thoughts like "I like other girls" in the copy on the Web site, but overall think this is a bust.
Stephanie Weaver
http://experienceology.blogspot.com

Rob Fields

I have to agree with you and Stephanie. I'd jumped on this earlier because I had to see this awful campaign every day on my subway commute. Here are my comments:
http://www.marketingpopculture.com/the_spark/2006/07/marketing_to_va_1.html

Mary Schmidt

Well, ick (yes, that's my highly professional marketing opinion.)

This could be a fun campaign IF the viewer told something "nobody knows about me" and kept it light and silly. For example, we could share our secret addictions to things like Swedish Fish ;-)

randi

I just saw one of these commercials for the first time and was freaked out. I had to reply it several times on my Tivo to belive if I heard what I thought I just heard. It was two friends and ones secret is that she dosen't ever want children and the other women announces she is having a baby. Very Weird.

jennifer

I had the same experience with the same commercial. It was actually aired during SNL and I thought it was a joke. My husband told me it was a real commercial. I don't even understand what this has to do with anti-perspirant and how they plan to sell more of it with these ads. My husband and I did get a good laugh though. Sooo stupid. Embarassingly stupid.

gay spank

Still I can find realy useful informations - isn`t it great?! Go on http://spankzilla.spazioblog.it/

herefast123

http://www.batteryfast.co.uk/toshiba/pa3384u-1bas.htm toshiba pa3384u-1bas battery,

herefast123

http://www.batteryfast.com/toshiba/pa3010u-1bar-battery.php Battery For Toshiba 8000 PA2451URN PA2510UR PA3010U laptop battery,
http://www.batteryfast.com/toshiba/pa3154-battery.php Battery For Toshiba Portege 2000 2010 R100 PA3154U-1BRS laptop battery,

ninabee

who had the catch phrase, "keep that shower fresh feeling all day..."

D

Does anyone know where I can find a link to this view this commercial ad?

Beverly

Posted on Yth,Saya sangat bemainrt untuk mempelajari dan bisnis internet marketing..Mohon rekomendasi dimana saya harus belajar lebih efektif dan efisien.Saya punya beberapa refernsi dari internet :1. Mr. Fabian Lim (Word Internet Academy)2. Suwandi Chow3. Ivan Satya4. eprofit marketing5. Jimi Meidi (Jim link)Terima Kasih

Richard

I was delighted to find this web site.I wanted to thank you for your time reading this wonderful! I really enjoyed every bit of it and I've marked to ensure that the blog post something new.

The comments to this entry are closed.

My Photo

My Other Accounts

Buy the Book: Selling Financial Services to Women